MeriTalk - Where America Talks Government
Event Details
When: July 24, 2013, 8:00 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Where: Knight Conference Center at the Newseum
Newseum, Washington, D.C.
Cost: Complimentary for government; industry rates apply
CPE Credits: Interested in CPE credits? Cyber Security Brainstorm attendees are eligible to receive continuing professional education (CPE) credits. Click here for more details.


For more information on event details, please contact us at

Delicious Digg StumbleUpon

Sponsors and Partners
Mobile Work Exchange
On the Frontlines

CSX Brainstorm

Event Media

Cyber Security Confidence Awards: Recognizing Government Cyber Security Excellence

On Wednesday, July 24, Cyber Security Exchange honored the 2013 Cyber Security Confidence Award recipients at an awards ceremony on at the Newseum in Washington, D.C. The 2013 awards recognized excellence in government cyber security programs, leaders, and their accomplishments in the following categories:

  • Cyber Security Leader – Excellence in Cyber Security Leadership
  • Cyber Security Innovator – Innovative Use of Cyber Security Technology Resources
  • Cyber Security Best Practice/Implementation – Devotion to Improving Cyber Infrastructure Best Practices and Implementation

View the press release announcing the winners and honorable mentions here.

2013 Award Recipients:

CSX Leader

Glenn Fiedelholtz
Cyber Lead
Homeland Infrastructure Threat and Risk Analysis Center

CSX Innovator

Whyte Web Application Security Program (WASP), NASA
Howard Whyte
IT Security Operation Executive

CSX Innovator

Whyte CyberPatriot High School Cyber Defense Program, Civil Air Patrol (CAP), U.S. Air Force Auxiliary
Brig. Gen Joseph R. Vazquez
National Vice Commander, CAP

CSX Best Practice/Implementation

kotynski Continuous Network Device Monitoring, Manager Information Systems Security CIRT, U.S. Postal Service
Andrew Kotynski
Manager Information Systems Security CIRT

CSX Best Practice/Implementation

burks Valarie J. Burks
Deputy CIO for IT Security
Office of the Chief Information Officer
Information Technology Security Division

Selection Committee:

Brese Robert Brese
Chief Information Officer
Department of Energy

Kevin Charest
Chief Information Security Officer
Department of Health and Human Services

Eisensmith Jeff Eisensmith
Chief Information Security Officer
Department of Homeland Security

Brese Steve Elky
Deputy Director of Information Technology Services (ITS)
Library of Congress

Doug Krueger
Vice President
Federal Area Sales
Blue Coat

O'Keeffe Steve O'Keeffe
MeriTalk Cyber Security Exchange

Ross Ron Ross
Senior Computer Scientist
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Sager Tony Sager
Information Assurance Professional
The SANS Institute

Setty Hemanth Setty
Chief Technology Officer
Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board

Singer Michael Singer
Vice President Federal Sales
Dell Software Group